Department of Motor Vehicle Hearings Attorney in New Hampshire
Appeals and Hearings
You always have the right to a hearing from the Bureau of Hearings. Applying for an appeal is a process that takes some time and because the Vehicle Code can be complicated you may want to hire an attorney.
You are entitled to a hearing when your license has been submitted for suspension. The Director of the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV), the same person who signed your original driver's license, will issue the Administrative Suspension. DMV can seek to suspend your license for many reasons. If you are under 20 and have a moving violation DMV will look to suspend your license. If you have a medical condition or are elderly DMV may seek to suspend your license. The power of the state is very broad and any law enforcement official can submit a request to DMV to review your license status. However, the most common DMV suspension is known as a point suspension hearing. This is based on a certain number of convictions and their assigned points within a calendar year or consecutive number of years. For your convenience a point system chart is listed below. There are ways to avoid this suspension and hiring an attorney can help you.
A suspension can only be ordered after a hearing, and the Bureau of Hearings will hear your case. Bringing an attorney to your hearing can help your case and having your license suspended will have a dramatic effect on you, your family, and your friends. It is recommended to at least consult with an attorney before your hearing date.
What amount of demerit points can I accumulate before I can lose my license?
DRIVERS UNDER THE AGE OF 18 ARE SUBJECT TO THESE SUSPENSIONS:
6 Points in one calendar year = up to 3 months suspension
12 Points in two calendar years = up to 6 months suspension
18 Points in three calendar years = up to 1 year suspension
DRIVERS UNDER THE AGE OF 21 ARE SUBJECT TO THESE SUSPENSIONS:
9 Points in one calendar year = up to 3 months suspension
15 Points in two calendar years = up to 6 months suspension
21 Points in three calendar years = up to 1 year suspension
DRIVERS 21 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER ARE SUBJECT TO THESE SUSPENSIONS:
12 Points in one calendar year = up to 3 months suspension
18 Points in two calendar years = up to 6 months suspension
24 Points in three calendar years = up to 1 year suspension
What is an SR-22?
An SR-22 is a certificate of "proof of liability insurance" which must be submitted by an insurance company licensed to do business in New Hampshire. The insurance is for liability. New Hampshire DMV requires the certificate be either for Owner or Non Owner. If an Owner SR-22 is submitted it must NOT list your vehicles but state, "Any Vehicles Owned by the Insured." If a Non-Owner, it must state, "Any Vehicles Driven by the Insured." An SR-22 is valid until cancelled by use of an SR-26 certificate.
Contact us by phone or e-mail
We provide a free 30-minute initial consultation.
Phone: (603) 537-0700