Marijuana Laws in New Hampshire
Although many states are beginning to legalize marijuana, New Hampshire maintains strict policies on even the tiniest amounts of the drug. According to statute N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. §318-B:26, the manufacturing, cultivation, possession, possession with intent to sell, sale, distribution, and trafficking of marijuana is all criminal since marijuana is considered a controlled substance. The penalty depends on the amount of marijuana.
In New Hampshire, a very small amount of marijuana can be considered a Class A Misdemeanor. If you are found guilty, you may have to spend up to one year in jail and/or a maximum fine of $2,000.
Anytime you are found guilty of exchange, sale, or bartering marijuana, you may be subject to a felony charge.
- Less than one ounce is punishable by up to 3 years in prison along with a maximum fine of up to $25,000
- More than one ounce is punishable by up to 7 years in prison and a maximum fine of $100,000
- Five pounds or more is punishable by up to 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $300,000.
Resources: More NH State Drug Possession Laws
Hiring a New Hampshire Drug Defense Attorney
Although every offense listed above includes possible incarceration, having an experienced attorney will substantially improve your chances of avoiding jail. In addition to a guilty finding, those convicted of marijuana possession can also face possible termination at work, loss of their student loans, and expulsion from their college or university.
Whether you gave consent for an officer to search your vehicle or not, your attorney will be able to help you navigate the process.
Contact us by phone or e-mail
We provide a free 30-minute initial consultation.
Phone: (603) 537-0700