DWI/DUI Lawyer in New Hampshire & MA
If you have been arrested for driving while intoxicated, you need to be aware of the laws and what you are potentially facing. The Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) statute in New Hampshire has seen several significant changes. Statute NH RSA 265-A:2 now reads:
No person shall drive or attempt to drive a vehicle upon a way or operate or attempt to operate an OHRV; (A) While such person is under the influence of intoxicating liquor or any controlled drug, prescription drug, over-the-counter drug, or any other chemical substance, natural or synthetic, which impairs a person’s ability to drive or any combination of intoxicating liquor and controlled drugs, prescription drugs, over-the-counter drugs, or any other chemical substances, natural or synthetic, which impair a person’s ability to drive.
DWI Penalties in New Hampshire
The penalties regarding DWI have also changed. A person who has been convicted of a DWI (first offense) will face a Class B Misdemeanor, a $500 minimum fine plus penalty assessment, an Impaired Care Management Program referral, and drug & alcohol screening. Those whose results show possible substance abuse issues will be ordered to get a full assessment along with any supplemental programming and evaluation. Upon successful completion, drivers will need to earn approval from the Driver Education program before they are allowed to get their licenses back. The minimum loss of license is 90 days (9 month loss reduced by 6 months if all requirements completed) and the maximum is 2 years.
All fees are the responsibility of the person completing the requirements. Additionally, you must obtain SR-22 insurance.
- In some cases, you will also have to get an interlock device for sentence reduction.
- It is also possible that you may potentially have your license suspension shortened by 6 months if:
- Within fourteen days of the conviction, you successfully acquire an alcohol & drug screening, and
- Within 30 days of the conviction you are able to complete a substance abuse evaluation, and
- You remain in compliance with your designated service plan, and
- You are able you to successfully complete a Drivers Education Program that has been pre-approved
Penalties for Second and subsequent offenses, Aggravated DWI and Felony DWI are more harsh and can negatively impact your life.
Do I need a DWI/DUI Attorney?
This question is frequently asked by drivers that have recently been arrested for DWI. Hiring or at least consulting with an experienced DWI attorney is never a bad idea, especially if you are a repeat offender.
Keep in mind that a DWI attorney may have information that you have not considered because of your limited experience with the law. This information may help your case and impact the fines or jail time that you may receive.
Repeat offenders face higher penalties and jail time and the bottom line is you may not be able to afford not to hire a DWI attorney.
The process for dealing with a DWI conviction is complicated. You shouldn’t try to fight it alone. Having a skilled and knowledgeable lawyer from the Law Office of Kevin M. Tighe will make a significant difference. The wrong decision can make penalties worse, so don’t go it alone. Let NH DWI attorney Kevin M. Tighe help you get on the right track.
Contact us by phone or e-mail
We provide a free 30-minute initial consultation.
Phone: (603) 537-0700